It has been a long time since I wrote a blog post.  A lot has been happening, and I’m still getting used to the idea of blogging regularly.  Here is a quick summary of some of the things that have happened in the past week:

Top of the list is a rather alarming family emergency.  While biking in New Hampshire, my cousin Tim and my uncle David (husband and son to my Dad’s little sister) were hit by a state trooper who fell asleep at the wheel.  Tim’s ankle was pretty much shattered, and he got a concussion and a few cracked ribs, but all in all he got away from the wreck pretty well.  My uncle David was not so lucky: he had a severe head laceration, a pelvic fracture, some brain swelling, was in a coma for a while (maybe a day or two?) and they were worried about brain damage.  David has since woken up, and gotten better enough that they could move him back up to Orono, ME (where they’re from).  Tim is getting surgery on his ankle soon, and from what I hear David is getting better every day, but it was pretty scary for a while there.

On a happier, and less serious, note: I’ve managed to come up with some material that, once reorganized, might actually turn into a proposal.  I’m going to try to work on it some more tonight, and I have a bunch of comments from a workshop (from Tuesday) that I need to try to incorporate.  I meant to be done with all of this before the semester started; now I’m just hoping to be done sometime near the beginning of October.  Ugh. 

We currently have two cats living with us: my girlfriend, Una, has a cat named Molly who is adorable (softest cat ever, due in part to extreme-neuroses surrounding grooming).  Una recently decided to “foster” a second cat from PAWs, the shelter she volunteers for sometimes.  Fostering involves taking a cat into your home during the week, and then bringing them back to PAWs for the weekend, so that they can maybe be adopted.  The idea is to acclimate the cat to a house, and give them a more comfortable setting to stay in than the shelter.  We have Teal staying with us, an all-white, front-declawed fraidy-cat.  Molly is not a big Teal fan, and tends to hiss whenever she’s around.  Teal, for her part, has only recently gotten comfortable exploring the house, and still runs away whenever Molly gets near (or if anyone else makes any sudden moves). 

If you didn’t see comments on the last entry, Siva Vaidhyanathan, the author of the article I was commenting on, responded to my blog post!!!  Ridiculously nice of him.  I’m still amazed that that kind of thing can happen.  These intertubes, with their webs and…things.  Craziness. 

Lastly, I’ve finally gotten over a nasty, sinus-related, throat-killing, mucus-producing cold which may or may not have been a very weak form of Strep.  That probably contributed a little bit to me avoiding the blogging (and anything else) for a while.

That’s all from me for now,

-m

