A year or two ago, when I noticed that I friend of mine was posting her thoughts to Xanga (kind of like Livejournal, but… different) I thought to myself “hey, that seems like a cool idea, I should try that out!”  My brief experiment with quasi-blogging didn’t really pan out (maybe in part because I didn’t feel like I had anything to say, or anyone to say it to).  The pseudonym/screenname I chose was, in retrospect, a little creepy: I’d named the page “Going to the movies alone,” or something like that, and had consequently named myself something like “lonemoviewatcher.”

I know, creepy, right?

The fact is, though, that I do enjoy going to the movies alone.  People have told me such behavior is “weird,” but since I don’t really see watching a movie as a social action (unless you’re at home where you can chat and not really watch the movie at all, which is actually something I’m not very good at doing) I don’t see a problem with it.

I mention it here because I went to the movies tonight, by myself, and it was a rather liberatory experience… but I don’t really know why.  Certainly the movie I saw was excellent: Adventureland, starring Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart.  Martin Starr, of Freaks and Geeks fame, played a supporting role (which was awesome by the way, I’m actually a big fan of Starr’s, and if you haven’t seen Freaks and Geeks you should; it captures high school in a rather uncomfortably vivid way), as did Ryan Reynolds.   The movie wasn’t profound or anything, just a quasi-coming-of-age story set in the late-80s at a crappy amusement park… still, the characters were pretty vibrantly written, and the story was an engaging one.  I don’t know why I got so caught up in it, but it definitely made my night.  I left feeling like I could accomplish things, or at least that trying to accomplish them wouldn’t be as painful as it sometimes seems.

I bring up the movie as a way of getting into another issue: what I can post about here on this blog.  There is a fairly cliche concern about academic blogging, which says that you have to be especially careful what you blog about because people who are going to either hire you or evaluate you can very easily see blogging as a waste of time.  I’ve been going back and forth in my head about how much to reveal on this blog, especially given the fact that I am planning on being on the job market this coming year… but anyone who might hire me is going to know that I have a life outside of academia, and presumably that will actually come across as a good thing…

I am always conscious, of course, of the vastly public nature of this medium as well.  Even if there are only maybe 10 people who will read this post, it has the potential to be read by as many people as have a computer.  That’s a rather daunting standard for what’s worth writing about, if you think about it too much (as I tend to do).  All of this contributes to me not posting to this blog very often… something I’d like very much to change.

